Home » Articles » White Sox manager Tony La Russa moves to second all-time in MLB manager wins

White Sox manager Tony La Russa moves to second all-time in MLB manager wins

by Joe Binder

Tony La Russa is back in the news and for good reason.

With today’s 3-0 victory over Detroit, the White Sox skipper earned his 2,746th career win in a major-league dugout. It’s enough to push him into second place all-time on the manager wins list, breaking his tie with former Giants skipper John McGraw.

Connie Mack3,731.48653
Tony La Russa2,764.53634
John McGraw2,763.58633
Bobby Cox2,504.55629
Joe Torre2,326.53829

Looking a little deeper into La Russa’s resumé, here’s a complete breakdown of where he’s earned his victories:

  • Chicago White Sox (1979-1986): 522 wins
  • Oakland A’s (1986-1995): 798 wins
  • St. Louis Cardinals (1996-2011): 1,408 wins
  • White Sox (2021-present): 36 wins

After the game, today’s crowd of 20,068 cheered for La Russa as his accomplishment was acknowledged on the videoboard. He also received plenty of hugs and handshakes from his players before tipping his cap to those in the stands.

Currently in his 34th season, La Russa still needs an unattainable 967 wins to catch Connie Mack for the one-spot. Even so, he still ranks second on the games managed list, ninth in career games above .500, second in postseason wins, and third in postseason appearances. Should the White Sox also capture a World Series while he’s at the helm, La Russa will become just the sixth manager in MLB history to win four or more. 

We’ll see what more TLR can do.

For more updates, be sure to follow us on social media @SoxOn35th.

Featured Photo: White Sox/Twitter

Join the Conversation

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

You may also like

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x